ASSA Leadership

The ASSA has a President, President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President who make up the Executive Committee of the Society. In addition, the Society has members from across the state who are District Directors and together with the Executive Committee comprise the Governing Body of the Society. The ASSA also has a Director to the ASA and an Alternate Director to the ASA who attend quarterly meetings of the ASA Board of Directors and report back to the Society about the activities of the ASA.

Richard Carson, Executive Director
Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists
19 South Jackson Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
(334) 954-2577 (voice)
(334) 269-5200 (fax)

STATE OFFICERS 2024 - 2026

Gary Bridges, D.O., President 
East Alabama Medical Center
Matt Sherrer, M.D. , President-Elect
University of Alabama Birmingham
619 South 19th Street
Birmingham, Alabama 35249

Brit Bowling, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer
Comprehensive Anesthesia Services
709 Ward Avenue NE
Huntsville, Alabama 35801
Kurt Senn, M.D., Past-President

3104 Blue Lake Drive, Suite 110
Birmingham, Alabama 35243



ASA Director for Alabama - Jennifer Dollar, M.D.
1600 7th Avenue South
Suite 420
Birmingham, Alabama 35233
ASA Alternate Director - Blair Smith, M.D.
UAB Medical Center
Birmingham, Alabama



I. Michael Lasecki, laseck5@aol.com

Anesthesia Services, PC
201 Cox Street
Mobile, AL 36604

II. Michael Weatherford, M.D., rmweatherford@gmail.com

Anesthesia Consultants Medical Group, P.C.
1118 Ross Clark Circle, Ste 700
Dothan, AL 36301

III.  Arthur Boykin, M.D., arthur_boykin@yahoo.com
Anesthesia Associates, PA,
PO Box 8305
Gadsden, AL 35999

IV. Robert Nesbitt, rwnesbitt@bellsouth.net
Cullman Anesthesiology Consultants
306 7th Street NE
Cullman, AL 35055

V. Greg Bouska,  gbouska@gmail.com
Comprehensive Anesthesia Services
2006 Franklin Street, Suite 301
Huntsville, AL 35801

VI. Matt Sherrer, 
University of Alabama Birmingham

VI.  Lewis Hunt, Lahunt@aol.com

Southern Perioperative Services, P.C.

VII. Glenn Woods, gw4au@bellsouth.net
Anesthesia Associates of East Alabama
P.O. Box 627
Auburn, Alabama 36831

Founding Members:

Hiram Elliott, MD
Alfred Habeeb, MD
Alice McNeal, MD
Bryce Robinson, MD

ASSA Presidents: 

Kurt Senn, M.D., 2022-2024

Suzanne Blaylock, M.D., 2019-2022

Aimee Walsh, M.D., 2017-2019

Blair Smith, MD, 2015-2017

Jennifer Dollar, MD, 2013-2015 

Greg Bouska, MD, 2011-2013

Abe Schuster, MD 2009-2011

Ralph Fillmore, MD 2007-2009
Ann C. Still, MD 2005-2007
Michael C. Gosney, MD 2003-2005
Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, MD 2001-2003
Michael C. Gosney, MD 1999-2001
John Charles Spivak, MD 1997-99
Arthur M. Boudreaux, MD 1995-97
Peter Loux, DO 1993-95
Michael H. Lasecki, MD 1992-93
Dan F. Millard, MB, ChB 1991-92
Paul Elliott, MD 1990-91
Philip Hanlon, MD 1989-90
Peter Hendricks, MD 1988-89
Robert D. McKay, MD 1987-88
Robert E. Johnstone, MD 1986-87
Frederick R. Brosch, MD 1985-86
James E. Ramsey, MD 1984-85
Robert L. Reed, MD 1983-84
J. Russell Eubanks, MD 1982-83
Robert Nelson, MD 1980-81
William Fitzgerald, MD 1979-80
William D. Hughes, MD 1966-67
William P. Baston, MD 1965-66